Is Coffee Vegetarian? (Explained)

Short Answer: Yes, coffee is definitely vegetarian.

Vegetarian diets are followed across many different countries worldwide. While the rise in popularity may appear to be gradual in certain regions, there has been an obvious rise in vegetarian culture in recent years.

In fact, according to a recent report undertaken in the UK, the number of respondents identifying as vegetarian was around 14.93%.

Plant-based meals were seen as unusual until roughly a decade ago. For a number of reasons, the younger generation has embraced a plant-based diet with open arms leading to a growing global trend for vegetarianism.

Overall, vegetarians are estimated to make as much as 18% of the world population.

So you might wonder what exactly is considered a vegetarian diet and what is the reason behind its popularity. Also, you might also be wondering if your favorite beverage coffee is vegetarian.

In this article, I’ll be discussing whether or not coffee is vegetarian and some useful info about vegetarianism.

Now, let’s get to it real quick!

What is the Purpose of a Vegetarian Diet?

A vegetarian diet consists mostly of nutritious plant-based foods such as whole fruits and vegetables, legumes and nuts, and whole grains, which are generally substituted for animal meat, poultry, and fish.

Vegetarianism is commonly practiced for religious or personal reasons, as well as ethical concerns like animal rights. Others may try vegetarianism because they are environmentally conscious.

For example, some may eat vegetarian diets to avoid increasing livestock production, which increases greenhouse gas emissions, contributes to climate change, and consumes a lot of water, energy, and natural resources. All of these result in resource depletion.

Some people may just choose to go vegetarian in order to reap various health benefits.

But is it actually necessary to give up coffee in order to become a vegetarian?

Do Vegetarians Drink Coffee?

Yes, vegetarians do drink coffee.

Becoming a vegetarian does not mean you have to quit drinking your favorite morning beverage.

A coffee bean is a type of seed used to make coffee after being dried, roasted, and grounded. The seed can be planted and developed into a coffee tree if it is not treated. The coffee is processed, dried, and milled once it is harvested.

As you can tell, no animal products are used throughout the manufacturing process, making it appropriate for vegetarian diets. So, vegetarians can safely drink coffee.

However, there is one aspect that comes into play. If you’re on stricter forms of vegetarian diets, such as veganism, you’ll want to be sure you’re drinking vegan coffee.

Here’s a plant-based coffee recipe that’s worth trying.

A Video Showing the Procedures for Plant-Based Coffee Recipes

This video is quite helpful for me as I like experimenting with coffee recipes. You should definitely try it!

Vegan vs. Vegetarian: What’s the Difference?

Vegetarian diets may not prevent you from enjoying dairy products with your coffee.

Vegetarian diets exclude consumption of meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, while veganism is the practice of avoiding consumption or usage of any product derived from animals.

Veganism falls under the umbrella of vegetarian or plant-based diets. This means that vegetarian diets may not prevent you from enjoying dairy products with your coffee.

There is a wide range of plant-based dairy alternatives you can try if you want to go vegan. Soy and almond milk, for example, are frequently substituted for dairy milk in coffee.

Being a vegan also means acquiring a lifestyle that promotes animal cruelty-free consumption, environmental protection and sustainability. This means that vegans are likely to consume ethically sourced coffee.

So, if you are looking for coffee that aligns most with your social principles, look for organic coffee.

Look for USDA-certified organic coffee, which implies that the farmers who gathered it didn’t use any synthetic chemicals in its production process.

Now, let’s move on to some frequently asked questions involving vegetarian diets.

Do Vegetarians Drink Milk?

Vegetarians drink milk too!

Unlike vegans, some vegetarians choose to drink milk because it is considered animal cruelty-free and is only a byproduct of animals.

If you don’t consume meat, milk products are a fantastic alternative since they’re not only an excellent source of high-quality protein but also the best source of calcium in your diet.

Americans don’t get enough calcium in their diets, according to the Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee Report, to the point that the committee identified calcium as a nutrient of concern.

Although studies show that vegetarians consume 30% more milk than non-vegetarians and consume an additional 150 mg of calcium, most vegetarians still fall short of the required daily servings.

Which Coffee is Vegetarian?

If you want a quick answer, coffee in all its form is vegetarian-friendly.

However, if you are against the consumption of animal by-products like dairy, black coffee is the way to go.

Black coffee is often consumed without any additives, so it contains no animal by-products, making it a good choice for both vegans and vegetarians.

It is also great for your health because it has a low number of calories. One cup of ordinary black coffee made from ground beans has 2 calories, according to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

Other forms of coffee like cappuccinos and lattes depend heavily on cream and milk-based products that are sourced from animals.

As a result, vegetarians with no dairy restriction can go for them. But if you don’t take dairy, you do not have to only drink black coffee.

What Can Vegetarians Drink?

As long as the beverage source is plant-based, vegetarians can drink it.

However, many beverages and drinks have misleading labels, making it harder for you to assess if you should include them in your diet as a vegetarian.

If you come across drinks you want to have and want to make sure it has no animal products, check out the Vegetarian Resource Group’s Guide to Food Ingredients.

This will help you interpret product labels better so you can readily detect non-vegetarian or non-vegan components stated on a product label.

If everything checks out, you can consume the beverages as part of your vegetarian diet.

Is Coffee Veg or Nonveg?

Bag of coffee beans
Coffee beans are obtained from plants.

Technically, coffee is classified as legumes and not vegetables as it comes from the “beans” of a plant.

Coffee is grown on shrubs and bushes, which then yield coffee cherries. Coffee cherries are tiny red fruits. The seeds of the little red fruits are the coffee beans.

However, veg and non-veg are commonly used dietary terminologies.

All plant-based diets, such as fruits and vegetables, are included in the veg diet. There is no meat in it. Therefore, coffee in itself can be included in the veg diet. As milk does not come from animal flesh, it is still included in veg diets.

If you restrict yourself from animal by-products like milk, then refrain from adding them to your coffee instead opt for plant-based substitutes.

Is Coffee Bad for a Vegetarian Diet?

Coffee may be bad on a vegetarian diet because it reduces iron absorption but that entirely depends on the additives.

When coffee and other caffeinated beverages are consumed with a meal, iron absorption is reduced by 39 to 90%. However, caffeine only binds a little amount of iron and does not appear to be the primary agent interfering with iron absorption.

Coffee affecting iron absorption seems to vary depending on when and with what you take it.

According to one research, consuming a cup of coffee with a hamburger decreased iron absorption by 39%. On the other hand, having a cup of instant coffee with a bread meal decreased iron absorption by 60 to 90%.

Therefore, you do not have to cut your daily coffee intake if you think it is not compatible with your vegetarian diet. Instead, drink coffee only in between meals and at least one hour after eating.

Because plant-based meals have a poor absorption rate of iron, you’ll need to eat more iron-rich foods to maintain appropriate levels of iron in your body.

Among these foods are:

  • oatmeal
  • raisins
  • chickpeas
  • lentils
  • kidney beans
  • almonds
  • molasses
  • tofu
  • dried figs
  • spinach

In Summation

Being a vegetarian is not only about imposing restrictions or limiting foods from your diet, but it’s also about making healthier choices.

If you consider becoming a vegetarian, you have to give up all forms of meat, fish, and poultry. This doesn’t mean you have to give up your cup of coffee.

Coffee by itself is vegetarian-friendly and can potentially complement your plant-based diet.

Most vegetarians drink milk because it is not derived from animal flesh even if it is an animal by-product. If you’re not sure about dairy, plant-based milk substitutes are an option.

Coffee is not only vegetarian-friendly but also rich in antioxidants and has a variety of health benefits.

It’s a fantastic morning companion because of the pleasant aroma and soothing taste.

If you are on a vegetarian diet, coffee can be a safe addition.

So relax and enjoy your delicious cup of coffee! 

Matt Marshall

As I learn more and more about coffee and coffee products I want to share all my learnings with you here on this website. I hope you find my articles useful and entertaining to read.

Read Next